Dry skin saviours – my favourite products.

I understand the stress and frustration of having dry skin, particularly on obvious areas like your face. I wear make up regularly and hate applying my foundation only to see the flaky patches on my cheeks highlighted by product. Your stuck in limbo, wondering if you have enough time to remove the make up and start again, wondering if it’s just exaggerated by the light of the room you are in or if your skin will suddenly surge with moisture later in the day and the dryness will suddenly disappear. If this sounds familiar then I feel for you. I’ve used many products in my quest for moisture and have found sometimes the old methods work the best. Just because a product carries a hefty price tag doesn’t always mean it will work for you. I’ve also had to face the harsh reality that beauty companies sometimes just want to make money from claiming products work when actually they don’t. As I write this it’s January and we’re going through a pretty cold spell so my skin is facing cold winds outdoors and is being bombarded with heat at home and at work. A few weeks of dry skin over Christmas and I am was desperate for a solution. I ventured out to Boots and found some skin saviours that have now banished my dryness. I spent a total of £11 and have a skin care routine that has hydrated and cleared my skin in a way I never imagined. Usually I have dry patches on my cheeks, I tend to get some small spots on my chin and have redness when I’ve had a shower. My skin is sensitive so I have to make sure I use gentle products to stop it getting worse but these ones appear to be doing the trick.

Superdrug – Aqueous Cream £2.99

http://www.superdrug.com/Superdrug/Superdrug-Aqueous-Cream-500G/p/201021

img_2703

I was prescribed Aqueous Cream when I had severe dry skin in my teens but didn’t really appreciate its benefits until I got to my twenties. It’s usually prescribed for eczema and psoriasis as it is helps keep water in the skin. I never suffered from really bad skin after using the product until a couple of years ago when my skin became really sensitive after using some bad products. I purchased a large tub of Aqueous cream from Superdrug for only £2.99, which I think is great value considering how expensive other moisturising products are. After I have applied my other products, I apply a thin layer of cream all over my face, focusing on the cheeks. I then leave the cream to sink in before I go to bed and in the morning the dryness has practically disappeared.  Aqueous cream contains no fragrance so there aren’t any additional chemicals to irritate your skin.

Superdrug – Vitamin E Eye Cream £2.99

http://www.superdrug.com/Skin/Face/Eyes/Eye-Creams/Superdrug-Vitamin-E-Eye-Cream-15ml/p/282500

img_2702

I used to use the Body Shop Vitamin E Eye Cream, but  at £13 for a small tube it didn’t feel like I was getting good value for money. I found a cheaper alternative at Superdrug for only £2.99 that works just as well. After I have had a shower, I apply the eye cream underneath my eyes and around the socket. It keeps the eye area hydrated all day and brightens the appearance of dark areas around your eyes. I’ve found that applying my make up after using this is so much easier and the product looks nicer as a result. It’s in a handy little tube but you only need a small amount for each eye so I imagine it would last quite a while. If you don’t currently use an eye cream as part of you routine, I would recommend trying this. I find most moisturisers to be to heavy or greasy for my eyes, but this has the right texture to hydrate and blend in.

Boots – Coconut Oil £2.54 

https://www.boots.com/en/Boots-Ingredients-Coconut-Oil-100ml_1225296/

img_2701

There are so many people raving about the benefits of Coconut oil at the moment. Whether it is for your hair or skin it seems to be the go to solution for hydration. I’ve read numerous reviews about the use of coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut water in beauty regimes, i’d just never thought to try it on my own dry skin. Whilst browsing through the shelves in Boots I came across a small pot of Coconut Oil. It looks more like an ingredient than a body product but I was undeterred and bought it. The oil is firm in the jar so you need to work it a little with your fingers to get the product out. Once you have a small amount on your finger rub it gently onto your dry skin and leave to sink in. A little goes a long way here so don’t go overboard as you’ll be left with an oily face! I would recommend only applying this to the areas of dryness that really need a boost, for me that’s my cheeks so I only apply it here and leave the rest of my face for the moisturiser. Apply moisturiser all over your face and leave to sink in (preferably at night when you won’t be applying make up). Since using coconut oil, my skin has stayed hydrated all day long. The redness I also used to experience when I got out of the shower has also calmed down. For only £2.54 it’s a lot cheaper than other body oils and is completely natural, it also smells lovely too!

Boots – Glycerin & Rosewater £2.39

https://www.boots.com/en/Boots-Traditional-Glycerin-and-Rosewater-200ml_1225246/

img_2700

This is something grannies across the world have probably used back in the day, they definitely knew what they were doing when it came to decent skin care! Glycerin and Rosewater is part of Boots’ traditional skincare range and is the best cleanser/toner I have ever tried! There are a lot of rosewater products on the market, but for £2.39 I can’t fault this for quality or price. Applied to a cotton round you can use this as a toner before applying moisturiser, or as a cleanser for removing make up and dirt. I don’t wear much eye make up but it’s perfect for getting rid of the eye liner I have left after a day at work. It smells fresh and leaves my skin feeling hydrated rather than dried out like a lot of other cleansers do. Since using this product my skin isn’t half as dry as it used to be and along with the Aqueous cream, eye cream and Coconut oil my skin is always kept hydrated even in the coldest of January’s. If your interested in more traditional skin care, I would also recommend Ponds Cold Cream. It’s a little more expensive at £3.29, but it cleanses and moisturises at the same time. It’s my best go to when I know my skin is in need of some TLC. It’s been used for generations so it must be doing something right!

Ponds Cold Cream Cleanser £3.29 

https://www.boots.com/en/Ponds-Cold-Cream-Cleanser-50ml_1120639/

Photos taken and owned by Amy.

Let me know what you think.

